Paralucent

35 fonts for

$549.00

Single styles from $29.00

Demos Unavailable

Designed by Rian Hughes, Paralucent is a sans serif and stencil font family. This typeface has thirty-five styles and was published by Device.

Paralucent

$549.00

A thirty-five font family. This contains every font in the Paralucent Family.

View Similar Fonts

$99.00

A three font collection.

View Similar Fonts

$119.00

A four font collection.

View Similar Fonts

$319.00

A fourteen font collection.

View Similar Fonts

$319.00

A fourteen font collection.

View Similar Fonts

Access All Alternates
Contextual Alternates
Standard Ligatures
Stylistic Alternates
Stylistic Set 1
Stylistic Set 2
Stylistic Set 3
Stylistic Set 4
A A
Top of list 
Reset Settings

Paralucent Thin

$39.00

Paralucent Thin Italic

$39.00

Paralucent Extra Light

$39.00

$39.00

Paralucent Light

$39.00

Paralucent Light Italic

$39.00

Paralucent Medium

$39.00

Paralucent Medium Italic

$39.00

Paralucent Demi Bold

$39.00

$39.00

Paralucent Bold

$39.00

Paralucent Bold Italic

$39.00

Paralucent Heavy

$39.00

Paralucent Heavy Italic

$39.00

Paralucent Condensed Thin

$39.00

$39.00

$39.00

$39.00

Paralucent Condensed Light

$39.00

$39.00

$39.00

$39.00

$39.00

$39.00

Paralucent Condensed Bold

$39.00

$39.00

Paralucent Condensed Heavy

$39.00

$39.00

$29.00

Paralucent Stencil Medium

$29.00

Paralucent Stencil Heavy

$29.00

Paralucent Text Book

$39.00

$39.00

Paralucent Text Bold

$39.00

$39.00

Designed to be a warm and versatile all-purpose modern sans in the tradition of Univers and Helvetica, but avoiding the calligraphic idiosyncrasies of the latter or the foregrounded optical corrections of the former.

Paralucent is available in a wide range of weights from Thin to Heavy, in two widths each with italics.

There are two additions to the core 28-weight family: a three-weight stencil set, and a four weight text family. The text weights have been adjusted for use at small point sizes, and feature more open character shapes, looser inter-letter spacing for improved readability, and lining numerals for use in listings and tables.

Several core ideas inform Paralucent’s design. Prime attention has given to the negative space between characters, giving a more even “colour”, especially in text. For example, the J, L and T have shorter arms than comparable sans typefaces. The A has a lower bar, opening up the interior counter. An unusually high lower-case x-height again helps to give a more even colour and improve legibility.

Care has been taken to rationalise repeated elements like the tails on lower-case letters, the Q and the “ear” of the g. Typographic design solutions that are consistent across all these features add to its stylistic cohesion.

Foundry Device
Share
Fonts35
Price $29.00
Released2001
Fontspring Debut2019
Favorited7
Styles Sans Serif, Stencil
Designer Rian Hughes
Licenses Desktop
Web Font
Ebook
Application